Tags

, ,

So, I listened to an hour’s worth of NPR today. It was thirty minutes of Morning Edition and thirty minutes of All Things Considered. To start off, I don’t really listen to the radio. If I do, I just listen to music. However, I do listen to podcasts, so that’s almost like the radio, right? Anyway, listening to NPR was totally new to me and, quite frankly, very interesting.

First, I listened to some of Morning Edition and was surprised at the array of stories they talked about. There were topics ranging from the Petraeus scandal to the Tea Party to Halo 4. Yes, Halo 4. The video game. So, no matter what topic someone was interested in, they probably covered it. There were also stories on sports, books, and Charlie Watts (drummer of The Rolling Stones) that were in the queue. A very diverse and interesting bunch of stories.

Also, the segments of the stories were a manageable length, at least from what I listened to. They were all under five minutes, which allowed NPR to touch on the various types of stories that they did. So, what this does is allow for people who aren’t interested in a topic to listen to the segment. How hard is it to listen to something you are unfamiliar with for three minutes? Not hard. So, that aspect I find appealing.

Later, I listened to All Things Considered. This was more about the hard news, as there were no stories on Halo 4 or things of that nature, but they were all on the short side as well, which, as I said before, is a plus. It keeps things fresh and keeps viewers attentive.

Having these short segments online is such a convenience. It allows for listeners to simply click on the stories that they are most interested in and, as I mentioned before, it also allows listeners to listen to unfamiliar stories. Someone can become fairly informed by listening to three or four minutes of one of their stories. That, to me, was the biggest thing I took away. One could learn a lot by listening to NPR every once and a while.

